Behind the words: That GOOD GOOD Blog

A while ago, I asked a couple of fellow bloggers to reveal to us a little bit about the person behind the words. They gracefully obliged and answered my questions so that I can share with everyone. You can find the first post here. It was great to learn more about the woman behind the wonderful blog, Alligator Legs.

Next up, we have Dee from That GOOD GOOD Blog. In her corner of the cyberspace, Dee combines some of my favorite things (Music!!!, Poetry, Art in all its forms and  Inspiring people) to create a place that is always so much fun to come back to, time and time again. I love finding out about new artists and falling in love again with older ones, every time I stop by That GOOD GOOD Blog. Without further ado, here is Dee in her own words.


1. What made you decide to start blogging?

To be completely honest, this blog was a product of summer vacation boredom. However, it has transformed from something I did simply to occupy my time into my passion. I now realize that the true reason I started blogging was not for myself, but instead for others. I feel it is my duty to share the many talented people and other amazing things that I come across with the world.

2.  Where did the name of your blog come from?

This is a question that a lot of people ask me actually :) The name was just something random that I came up with. That “good good” is a term I had been using to describe the music I like because it means “of the highest quality”, but of course if you are a Lil’ Wayne or Ashanti fan the meaning is a little…different. But like I say in the definition that I put on my blog, I plan on raising this term to newer heights. Some things in life are just so good you have to say it twice.


3. What do you write about?

I try to vary my posts as much as possible so I write about different aspects of fashion, music, and art. I do a lot of features because there are so many amazing people out there in the world who are doing incredible things and I feel that they deserve more attention than they may already be getting. My features range from entrepreneurs who have their own clothing and jewelry companies to amazing photographers to talented musicians and also to individuals from around the world with great senses of style. When it comes to music, I am extremely particular about what I write about because I want my blog to be a place where musicians who are excellent but whose work gets overlooked because of the narrow-mindedness of the music industry get their time in the spotlight. I am a huge fan of hip-hop and neo-soul but as long as the music is really good, I will discuss it. So in short, I write about whatever grabs my attention me and inspires me in some way, shape, or form.

4. Tell us a little bit about your cultural background

I was born in Nigeria but moved to the United States when I was just 3 months old so I have lived here my whole life. I am very “Americanized”, yes, but my parents have made sure that I still stay connected to my Nigerian roots as much as possible. They raised me and my siblings as closely as they would have raised us in Nigeria as possible. My heritage is everything to me, it shaped me into the individual that I am today.

5. How do your experiences and your cultural background impact the way you view the world?

They impact my world in a number of ways but the most prominent way that I can think of is my love culture. Nigerian culture is so rich and exciting so it only makes sense that I would be drawn towards the things of the world that are also rich in culture and exciting. I am so inspired by culture and I am continually looking for other inspiration on a day to day basis. That’s why I am constantly reading and searching for things that grab my attention and once I find something I truly love, I share it with all my readers on my blog.

6. In your opinion, what does it mean to be a girl/woman today?

Wow, this is such a great question. To me, being a girl or a woman today means going above and beyond what everyone expects of you. Being young, black, and female in today’s society means receiving the “short end of the stick” in just about every situation. Society is telling me I have three things working against me. However, it is my duty to do the best that I can do and to strive for greatness every single day so that perhaps those who hold so tightly to their stereotypes can see that I am just as good as everyone else. Us women today cannot and should not allow the limitations that others put on us to hold us back and deter us from reaching our ultimate goals. If anything, we should take the negativity others might pass our way and use it as motivation to not only prove the naysayers wrong but to also prove to ourselves that we are worthy. We are strong. We are resilient. We are able to rise above and beyond whatever challenges block our paths. I believe God made me a black woman for a reason; He would never give me anything I couldn’t handle. So I am going to be the best I can be and if that is enough for me at the end of the day, then it is safe to say I have lived a completely purpose driven life.

7. Finally, If someone asked you to recommend some music, what would you say? What are 2 songs you just can’t help replaying these days?

I would say, listen to hip-hop! No, not that diluted, ignorant, commercial rap that gets endless play and rotation on the radio. I mean that conscious, life changing, soul gripping, head bobbing, finger snapping, good good hip-hop. The type of music that makes you think. Hip-hop is my favorite genre for so many reasons. I am a huge fan of poetry and I feel that true hip-hop is poetry to a beat. That’s why I am so taken by the sound of it; there is nothing that cheers me up more when I’m down than curling in my bed with Slum Village or Guru or Mos Def playing in my ear. Unfortunately, hip-hop gets such a bad rap because of the other music that people confuse it with. That is why I put so much hip-hop on my blog, especially in my blog playlist, so that people can listen and realize that real hip-hop is absolutely beautiful.

{via}

Two songs I just can’t stop playing these days are “Mind Sex” by Dead Prez and “Mood Swing” by Asheru feat. Talib Kweli. These 2 songs are perfect examples of what I would consider pure hip-hop. What I love so much about the song “Mind Sex” are the lyrics, the song tells a story of how a man wants to get to know a woman on a more emotional level before getting to know her on a physical level which I just find so beautiful. “Mood Swing” caught my attention because it samples from my favorite jazz tune “In A Sentimental Mood” by Duke Ellington feat. John Coltrane. I love it when hip-hop artists sample music from unlikely places and the combination of jazz and hip-hop in this song are absolutely perfect.

Now that you know a little bit about the woman behind the words, make sure you stop by That GOOD GOOD Blog to say hello. Thank you for the interview, Dee!

This entry was posted in Interviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Behind the words: That GOOD GOOD Blog

  1. Maggie says:

    that blog is sickeningly amazing! I love reading her posts everyday. I didn’t know that she was Nigerian though :)

  2. That African Girl says:

    I love her blog too, Maggie. It’s funny things you learn about people when you ask them questions, right?

  3. Xavier says:

    This is really nice. Good work on this.

  4. Pingback: The 2011 Black Weblog Awards | That African Girl

Leave a Reply

