Fall Break (would like)to-do list

After a coffee-fueled, sleepless week, Fall break is finally here. Which means, we can do whatever we want for 5 days. Well…2 if you discount the weekend. It’s so quiet tonight (on a Friday night?) since most students have decided to go back to mommy and daddy…or at least do a warmer climate. I chose to stay to get my crap together, which basically means learning what I should have learned 2 weeks ago, figuring out when I want to take the GRE, and which step I want to take after Cornell: Americorps, a job or grad school?

Ok…realistically, though, Fall Break is so laid back that actual work rarely gets done. Here’s what I’ve done so far with my free, no-hassles time: ate enough junk food for a roomful of girls having a “we-hate-men” party, caught up on episodes of “How I met your mother” and NCIS, slept in till 1:00 pm and caught on my favorite blogs.

100_2638

My wall is covered with sticky notes about what I would like to do before my last Fall Break is over. Here are some of my (ambitious) goals:

1. Take georgous fall pictures all around Ithaca. (Judging by the rainy weather predicted for this week-end, that might be a FAIL)

2. Catch up on the e-mails that I’ve been neglecting

3. Call home, or family members I’ve been meaning to get in touch with

4. Go to a music venue

5. Apply for the GREs

6. Go check out some of the sites around Ithaca

7. Movie marathons with people

8. Do some of the “161 things every Cornellian should do before graduating” like: walking all the 161 steps of the clocktower, eat a pinesburger (what?), see the brain collection in Uris.

As you can see, verrry exciting few days. We’ll see what actually gets done.

This entry was posted in College and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fall Break (would like)to-do list

  1. sheena says:

    and… no pressure or anything. but—almost two months later, have you crossed anything out with a thick sharpie? reached any major conclusions?

    your blog is brilliant. i love the videos you post and your insight. i really related to your post on college and identity.

    i’ll be back. often. 🙂

  2. That African Girl says:

    Hahaha…Thanks for the support, Sheena!

    I definitely did some of the things on my list. I think the most important thing I did from my list was to come up with a list of people I could interview. So, I did informational interviews with about 10 people on campus and those conversations ended up changing some things on my list…like I decided to work for 2-3 years before going to graduate school. So, that means I took off “taking the GREs” from my list. I went from being solely focused on “Student Affairs” to looking at “Comparative Education” programs.

    It’s amazing how other people’s stories can help you shape your own life.

  3. Akhila says:

    I’m totally confused…. this post showed up in my google reader today, but it’s months old!

    • That African Girl says:

      I’m not too sure. It might have been because of the tinkering I’ve been doing in the background with categorizing the posts. Sorry about that.

Leave a Reply

