New Year, New Resolutions

It’s that time of the year again. Those who haven’t yet made their New Year’s resolutions are making them, and those who have already made them are starting to realize that they may not be able to keep them up till the end of the year.

I gave up on making resolutions a while back, except in a few areas. Like Blogging. I came back to the blog and realized that, to have the motivation to keep going, I need to really to be set a theme, a purpose for writing. To start the new year, here goes my articulation of the purpose of this blog:

I started this blog to highlight things happening in Africa. Most of the reporting about Africa is about the harsh, the horrible, the negative. If you don’t believe me, just head to the “World” section of the New York Times. While it’s true that stories of war, disease, bad governance and disaster come out often about Africa, there is good too. Some people may say that it’s not realistic to want to talk up the good stuff only, but I believe that it’s about Hope. My favorite line from Magic System‘s song, “Bouger Bouger” is , “Tant que y’a la vie, on dit toujours y’a l’espoir”, meaning that, as long as there’s Life, there’s always Hope. Hope is what keeps people going through all the bad stuff. Hope is what makes people fight for the good, or believe that they can leave a better world for their children. So, I hope to be highlighting the good, talking up the positive coming from Africa.. I’m that African Girl who wants to not only share more, but learn more as well. Join me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Year, New Resolutions

  1. yunus says:

    happy new year god bless

Leave a Reply

