AfricaKnows: Photojournalism at its best

I took a course this semester on Career Development. During one class, we played a game called, “What would you do if you had 10 billion dollars?”. I think a better question would have been “What would you do if you never had to worry about money for the rest of your life?”. The idea of this game is the assumption that we hold back on our dreams, because of financial constraints and other things we perceive as obstacles.

In my small group, I spoke about my “crazy idea”. If I had a bottom-less amount of money, one of the things I would do is to get a camera crew together and travel around the world and film a documentary about the African Diaspora. I would seek out dark-skinned people in every part of the world, and document their experience. It would be quite Anderson-Cooper-ish. Along with the documentary, I would compile the stories into volumes of book and donate them to libraries all around the world (After all, I’d have the ability to just give books away for free).

Photo Credit: africaknows

I was excited to find out via WhiteAfrican.com that a similar project is already being developed. Two TED fellows, Josh Wanyama and Sheila Ochugboju, have taken it upon themselves to show Africa as it is today…at this moment…at this instant…through their use of social networks and digital media. The pictures at AfricaKnows.com are vivid, vibrant and captivating; many of them, followed by a short commentary. Arranged in different categories, they depict life, as it is: raw, colorful, in-your-face.  There is the possibility to purchase photos you like as prints, cards or to send them as e-cards. It’s photojournalism; not photos of journalists taking pictures of smiling children.

Photo credit: africaknows

I doubt that I will ever have a bottomless revenue stream or that my “dream” will ever be manifested, but just in case it does, I will be perusing AfricaKnows.com, taking notes and learning a few things about Africa through pictures.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to AfricaKnows: Photojournalism at its best

  1. Thanks for the write up. It actually is my dream to get some money set aside so I can be spending 6 months in every year traveling the world and taking pictures. But then again, that might take a while. So when we got a chance to start Africa Knows, I decided I will still have to work at this dream, whether the money is there or not.

    We are grateful for people such as yourself, since we can’t get to go everywhere or tell the story to everyone. But each person representing the African spirit can do it for us. That way we can then get to cover the whole continent and by extension the world.

  2. Tchefor says:

    Very interesting post … I am going to bookmark Africaknows.com.
    Dreams will be dreams unless there are opportunities to realize them. I feel we are in the era where opportunities are beginning to open up for Africa and we do need a lot of dreamers. People who would dream big for Africa … opportunities will come in thick and fast. Be ready when the time comes.

    Shalom
    Tchefor

  3. That African Girl says:

    @ Tchefor: Thank you for the encouragement! I can’t wait to see those doors open even wider. In the meantime, I will keep on dreaming, writing, and taking care of the present.

    @Joshua: I’m a huge admirer of your project. Very inspiring! I can’t wait to see what happens next. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

