I’m a Wong Fu fan

Source

These days, you can find just about anything on youtube. The good, the bad and the ugly….literally.  My freshman year, somebody ran into our room screaming , “have you guys seen “Yellow Fever“?” A computer was cracked open and a few minutes later, a group of giggling girls crowded around Wong Fu Productions‘ most recognized short. And it snowballed. John showed Sallie. Sallie showed Tracey and Troy. And next thing we knew, people were recreating scenes and laughing over lines. We even saw it in my Demography class. That was all I knew about the trio, until a few weeks ago.

These days, Phil, Wes and Ted are developing their craft, producing music videos, going on speaking tours and producing/directing/acting in their own shorts. I couldn’t stop watching their videos. What I like most about them is the way they contribute to the promotion of Asian-Americans in mainstream media through participating in festivals and collaborating with other Asian-American artists.

Okay, I’ll stop gushing. All this to talk about one particular thing. The One Days. A series of shorts written and produced during a short trip Wes and Phil took to Hong Kong one summer. The challenge? Producing one short in one day, hence the title. What came out are beautifully written and produced [word used to prevent saying “shot shorts”] shorts with heartwarming  stories. Go check them out. I promise, you will not be dissappointed.

The short stories inspired me to write my own series of short stories. These won’t be filmed though. I’m much more skilled with a pen..err…keyboard than a camcorder. The short stories will be about something I’ve been thinking about for a while: First Impressions.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

