Growing Up…To Be or Not to Be?-Adey

Adey goes first in answering the age-old (no pun intended) question: What do you want to be when you grow up. And if you like videos of kids saying cute stuff, you’ll definitely enjoy her post!

My Prompt:

What did you want to be when you were growing up? And how did that change over the years?

My Answer:

Ha– what an appropriately timed question by Madame Makafui, editor in chief of said blog! Appropriate, considering my recent college graduation filled with congratulations and visions of my future. Also considering my recent anniversary of 22 years alive on this Earth. By most standards, it’s prime time to make those critical decisions about what you’re going to be. Because you’re on the verge of really growing up. Time to make important life decisions outside the realm of just school…what college to attend, what to major in, what internship to take, who to befriend. Certainly those are important in their own right. But the repercussions of these decisions have much longer reach–what field to enter, med school, law school, gap years, a job that fits you, learning how to mold jobs into a meaningful profession. At least that’s how it feels right now. Like the decisions that I make at 22 will make or break some part of my life.

Actress

It was a lot easier to declare “what I want to be when I grow up” when I was 11. I think 11 was when I decided I wanted to be an actress. I’ve always had a fascination with the behind-the-scenes workings of my favorite stories, be it in the books I devoured or the movies I liked to watch. Somehow at that age, this translated into visions of movie sets and fun on the red carpet. I think the awards shows had a lot to do with it. The glitz & glamour was exciting but more than that the acceptance speeches were what got me. It seemed so amazing to be recognized in front of millions for creating something important & beautiful. I even remember going to break the news to my father very formally, quite serious about the whole thing…Well its 11 years later, and we all know I’m not graduating from NYU Tisch…

 

Singer

I remember being moved to tears listening to Whitney Houston belt out “I Will Always Love You” at an awards show performance near that same age…I remember wishing I could move people that way, wishing I could create art with my voice. A love for singing and music has always been present in my life but after getting kindly shot down by the parents about the actress aspiration, I decided to keep this “what I want to be” goal primarily to myself. But it’s a back of my mind dream/wish that’s never quite gone away.

Journalist

I think I hit this idea somewhere in late elementary or early middle school. I distinctly recall being in the grocery store with my father when I was very dramatic-like hit with the calling. The inspiration to change people’s lives through journalism—just like Christiane Amanpour! It seemed to make sense. I wanted to do something that would touch people in some meaningful way, a job that wasn’t self-serving. And I wanted to travel. What better way to see the world than reporting from action-packed zones around the world as an international correspondent. Somehow the zeal and passion surrounding that idea also faded through the years of childhood.

Dr. Adey

And of course, the most recent aspiration. Somewhere around 12 or 13 I had the brilliant idea of making public that I thought it’d be cool to be a pediatrician. It made sense to combine my love for kids with a job that “helps people”. The parents latched & the rest is really history…or at least material for another post… the discontent & self-inquiry of college that is. Cheerful stuff…

About Adey

New to the world of blogging and excited to get started -- student/opportunity seeker/lover/singer/writer/sister/daughter/friend/music-head (my new word) -- and apparently now a blogger -- much more...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Growing Up…To Be or Not to Be?-Adey

  1. That African Girl says:

    Adey,
    You are a remarkable woman. Can’t say I was really surprised by your previous career choices though…except for “Actress”. That threw me for a loop. Although, I can see the silver thread holding it all together: “wanting to touch/help people in a deep, meaningful, selfless way”. I believe you have your mission statement, madam!

Leave a Reply

