Reflecting on cultural differences

{via weheartit}

Name: Mabinty Q.

Country of Origin: USA, Sierra Leone, Ghana

Growing up with African parents in an African home has been both a difficult and wonderful experience. The difficult times have involved the cultural differences between Africa and America.

At times it was hard to watch friends have privileges that I knew that my parents would never tolerate with me like dating at a young age. Other times it was great that there was a whole other culture, language, and food that I understood and was apart of. I can reflect and laugh at the times that I got beat for being bad instead of being grounded like other friends of mine. On the other hand I am extremely grateful that my parents and family always expected the best from me in everything that I do. Growing up in an African culture has made me more unique and special as a person.

This entry was posted in Chronicles of the African Childhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

