Favorite Cartoon Shows

<via>

Hi people,

Happy Friday! How do you celebrate the general awesome-ness of the day that signals the beginning of the weekend? Or does it just remind you of that list of things you’ve been meaning to do? Here, it means sunshine, some good music and of course, that giant list of things I’ve been meaning to do. Celebrating or not, come down memory lane with me, will ya?

Sarah Von over at yesandyes blogged last week about her favorite cartoon shows. I remember looking at the list going, “huh, how come I only know half of what she’s talking about?”. Then, I remembered that I grew up in a Francophone country where TV was in French and the television shows were from France, Belgium, Canada and Ivory Coast. So, here’s my list of cartoons that shaped me my childhood, both pre- and post-United States.

Pre-United States

1. Les Aventures de Tom Sawyer

Every Saturday morning at 11:00 am, I learned about Mississipi and all the mischiefs Tom would get himself into. I can still remember the theme song. “Il n’a peur de rien, c’est un Americain”…translation “He’s not afraid of anything, he’s an American”…interesting, no?

2. Les aventures de Tintin

Good Belgian cartoon, though I had issues for a long time about how they drew black people. So much adventure. It was great!

3. Lucky Luke

Sunday morning TV. The life of a cowboy. It doesn’t surprise me that my ideas about what Americans looked like  when I was a kid involved cowboy boots and lassos. Just sayin’…

4. Clementine

Maybe I liked her because she was my namesake, but she was a cool girl, wheel-chair, talking cat and all. I can still sing the opening song “Clementine, quand tu fermes les yeux…”

5. Samba et Leuk

The African young hero. I loved the music and the storyline. “Samba et Leuk, espoir de l’Afrique”- hope of Africa

Post- United States: Cartoons that helped me learn English and understand American culture

1. Arthur

Classic! “Every day when you’re walking down the street…”

2. As Told by Ginger

She was so smart, so introspective…I thought she was kinda cool.

3. Proud Family

All I remember is that they spoke so fast, I only got 1 out 10 words. I always wondered if I’d be able to, one day,  speak as fast as they did.

Now, your turn. Humor me. What cartoons did you watch as a kid (or still watch) ?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Favorite Cartoon Shows

  1. Thelma says:

    As Told by Ginger was my favourite! But Jem and the holograms was crazy popular growing up in Zimbabwe. I think they’re actually still showing it. And the smurfs, couldn’t get enough of them. I also loved Pepper-Ann. She fascinated me coz she worked. I could never get my head around the idea of a child working, not because they had no other choice, but just for a little extra money. All the kids I knew who were working weren’t in school and were supporting their families.

    • That African Girl says:

      Hi Thelma,

      Nice to meet a fellow “As Told by Ginger” fan! I remember watching the Smurfs too, only in French they were called Schtroumpfs, lol. I’ve never heard of Jem and the holograms. I think I’ll do some “research” on youtube 😀

Leave a Reply

