Country Profile: Zambia

 

{via}

If Zimbabwe was called Southern Rhodesia, Zambia was Northern Rhodesia. It became known as Zambia after the country’s independence in 1964, deriving its name from the Zambezi River. Zambia is also another country you can go to to experience the wonder of the largest sheet of falling water in the world.

{via}
The orange in the Zambian flag represents the country’s mineral wealth and the eagle in flight symbolizes the freedom in Zambia and the ability to rise above national problems.

Where is it? Zambia is a landlocked country surrounded by the following countries: the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia and Angola.

What languages do people speak there? There are over 70 different ethnic groups in Zambia. English is the official language, but some of the major traditional languages include Bemba, Lozi and Kaonde.

What’s the capital of Zambia? Lusaka

{via}

How do I say “thank you very much” in Bemba? Natolela Sana

Let’s talk “landscape and critters”: 14 different species of antelopes, zebras, lions and crocodiles, oh my. This is just a short list of animals you may find in Zambia’s game reserves. Reknown for its copper resources, Zambia’s vegetation is that of a Savannah, with 3 seasons: dry and cool, dry and hot, wet and warm

Who is the Zambian Head of State? The current president of the Republic of Zambia  has been Mr. Rupiah Benda since 2008.

Is there anyone famous that I might know that has a connection to Zambia? The beautiful and talented actress Thandie Newton from the films Crash, The Pursuit of Happyness and For Colored Girls is half British-half Zimbabwean, but grew up in Zambia for some time.

{via}

Where can I find out more about what you talked about here? Here are some of the resources I used:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/africa/country_profiles/1069294.stm
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zambia
http://www.zambiatourism.com/travel/traveladvice/general.htm
http://www.zambiatourism.com/travel/nationalparks/sluangwa.htm

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Country Profile: Zambia

  1. Chembo says:

    Wow! I love this, I’m zambian and I just came to ur blog for da first time and thought it was kinda hilarious that you just blogged about my country. I’m from ndola originally and Zed is awesome!!!
    fine me also on
    Twitter: @chembomusic
    facebook: @chembomusic
    BLOGSPOT: blackgirlstyle.tumblr.com

  2. That African Girl says:

    Nice to meet you, Chembo! Thank you for checking out the blog. I hope I did justice to the description to Zed. I’m finding myself learning so much every time I do research for these profiles.

    Btw, love the acoustic session on your tumblr (are you the one singing?)

  3. Pingback: Country Profiles in 10 minutes: The African Edition | That African Girl

  4. Hi
    I came across your blog for the first time as I am writing a second book set in Zambia and was looking up something (I used to live in Zambia – now in Ireland!) Great blog. Have you listened to Mutinta from Zambia (I see you post quite a bit of music!) She’s great. I have put a couple of her videos on my blog – my favourite is still the first one of hers I posted (courtesy of Miss Bwalya) called Chungwa.
    Keep it up.
    Paula

    • Makafui says:

      Hi Paula,
      I just checked out Mutinta. I’ve been listening to her all morning. Thank you so much for introducing me to her. By the way, I love reading your bio (shameless internet stalking), haha. Your life story is so diverse and so interesting.

Leave a Reply

