Western Sahara: The Disputed Land

Western Sahara. It’s a place that many people have not heard about. Maybe, because it’s not yet considered a country. Western Sahara, or Aṣ-Ṣaḥrā’ al-Gharbīyah in Arabic has been on the UN list of non-self-governing territories along with Guam, American Samoa and the Cayman Islands since 1963.


Decolonized from Spain in 1965, it remains a disputed land between Morocco and the Polisario Front, working for Independence since 1979.

Siutated in North Africa, Western Sahara has Mauritania, Morocco and Algeria for neighbors. The majority of people originating from this mostly dry and arid land are called Sahrawis. The major religion is Islam.


The issue of sovereignty remains unresolved, to date.


This entry was posted in Country Profiles. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s