My daughter will be a doctah!

This week's question is inspired by a recent conversation with some friends. It was about what we want to do with our lives, career-wise. Okay, it was more about how we have no idea what we want to do with our lives and what our immigrant parents think about that. Consensus: They are HORRIFIED! All parents probably feel the same way, but we have experience with immigrant parents, so we're going to go with that.

So, here's the question. What is the career path that would most horrify your immigrant parents, if you bring it up at the dinner table?

For me, it would be telling them that I want to become a cab-driver for 10 years and then, I'm going to write a book about it. Guaranteed "horrification" will ensue.

By the way, in case you haven't seen this video, it's where the post title comes from.

Picture courtesy of robnguyen01

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My daughter will be a doctah!

  1. Akhila says:

    Great post. I recently talked about this, and my immigrant parents always wanted me to do some work like finance or something more lucrative. I didn’t follow that path, and I think they’re accepting the fact that I want to work in human rights and non-profit sector. Still, I don’t know that they’re happy about it.

Leave a Reply

